Preseason Media Poll at the annual SEC Football Media Days; Georgia First in East

NASHVILLE, TENN. (Florida Sports Wire) — The South Carolina Gamecocks have been picked to finish third in the SEC Eastern Division according to a preseason poll of the media covering the annual SEC Football Media Days this past week in Nashville, it was announced today.

Georgia was selected to win the SEC Eastern Division with 2011 points, including an overwhelming 265 first-place votes, while Tennessee was second with 1682 points and 14 votes to win the division. South Carolina was third with 1254 points. Points were awarded on a 7-6-5-4-3-2-1 scale.

Alabama was picked to win the SEC Western Division with 1899 total points, narrowly over LSU with 1838 points. Texas A&M was third with 1144 points.

Georgia was predicted to win the 2023 SEC Championship. The Bulldogs received 181 votes to be crowned SEC Champion on December 2 in Atlanta at Mercedes-Benz Stadium, while Alabama was second with 62 votes.

In addition, the preseason All-SEC teams as selected by the media were announced. Six Gamecocks were named to the three units, including first-team punter Kai Kroeger, first-team kickoff specialist Mitch Jeter, second team wide receiver Antwane Wells Jr., third-team tight end Trey Knox, third-team defensive lineman Tonka Hemingway and third-team all-purpose back Dakereon Joyner.

The Gamecocks will open the 2023 football season in Charlotte’s Bank of America Stadium on Saturday, Sept. 2, when they face the North Carolina Tar Heels. Game time is set for 7:30 pm and the contest will be televised nationally on ABC.

SEC PRESEASON MEDIA POLLFirst place votes in ()

EASTERN DIVISIONGeorgia (265) 2011Tennessee (14) 1682South Carolina (3) 1254Kentucky (1) 1204Florida 911Missouri 658Vanderbilt (8) 428

WESTERN DIVISIONAlabama (165) 1899LSU (117) 1838Texas A&M (1) 1144Ole Miss 1128Arkansas (3) 958Auburn (4) 685Mississippi State (1) 496

SEC CHAMPIONGeorgia 181Alabama 62LSU 31Tennessee 5Vanderbilt 5Arkansas 2Auburn 2Texas A&M 1Mississippi State 1South Carolina 1



First-TeamQB – Jayden Daniels, LSURB – Quinshon Judkins, Ole MissRB – Raheim Sanders, ArkansasWR – Malik Nabers, LSUWR – Ladd McConkey, GeorgiaTE – Brock Bowers, GeorgiaOL – JC Latham, AlabamaOL – Amarius Mims, GeorgiaOL – Tate Ratledge, GeorgiaOL – Will Campbell, LSUC – Sedrick Van Pran, Georgia

Second-TeamQB – KJ Jefferson, ArkansasRB – Jase McClellan, AlabamaRB – Kendall Milton, GeorgiaWR – Antwane Wells, South Carolina*WR – Bru McCoy, Tennessee*WR – Ja’Corey Brooks, AlabamaTE – Mason Taylor, LSUOL – Tyler Booker, AlabamaOL – Brady Latham, ArkansasOL – Javon Foster, MissouriOL – Xavier Truss, GeorgiaC – Seth McLaughlin, Alabama

Third-Team*QB – Joe Milton III, Tennessee*QB – Will Rogers, Mississippi StateRB – Jarquez Hunter, AuburnRB – Trevor Etienne, FloridaWR – Ainias Smith, Texas A&MWR – Jermaine Burton, AlabamaTE – Trey Knox, South CarolinaOL – Emery Jones, LSUOL – Eli Cox, KentuckyOL – Javontez Spraggins, TennesseeOL – Layden Robinson, Texas A&MC – Cooper Mays, Tennessee


First-TeamDL – Mekhi Wingo, LSUDL – Mykel Williams, GeorgiaDL – Maason Smith, LSUDL – Nazir Stackhouse, GeorgiaLB – Dallas Turner, AlabamaLB – Harold Perkins, LSULB – Jamon Dumas-Johnson, GeorgiaDB – Kool-Aid McKinstry, AlabamaDB – Malaki Starks, GeorgiaDB – Kamari Lassiter, GeorgiaDB – Javon Bullard, Georgia

Second-TeamDL – Jaheim Oatis, AlabamaDL – McKinnley Jackson, Texas A&MDL – Justin Eboigbe, AlabamaDL – Deone Walker, KentuckyLB – Smael Mondon, GeorgiaLB – Nathaniel Watson, Mississippi StateLB – Ty’Ron Hopper, MissouriDB – Malachi Moore, AlabamaDB – Dwight McGlothern, ArkansasDB – Demani Richardson, Texas A&MDB – Kris Abrams-Draine, Missouri

Third-TeamDL – Princely Umanmiellen, FloridaDL – Tonka Hemingway, South CarolinaDL – Tim Smith, AlabamaDL – Darius Robinson, MissouriLB – Chris Braswell, AlabamaLB – Jalon Walker, GeorgiaLB – JJ Weaver, KentuckyDB – Major Burns, LSUDB – D.J. James, AuburnDB – Nehemiah Pritchett, AuburnDB – Jason Marshall, FloridaSPECIALISTS

First-TeamP – Kai Kroeger, South CarolinaPK – Will Reichard, AlabamaLS – Kneeland Hibbett, AlabamaKOS – Mitch Jeter, South CarolinaRS – Kool-Aid McKinstry, AlabamaAP – Ainias Smith, Texas A&M

Second-TeamP – Nik Constantinou, Texas A&MPK – Harrison Mevis, MissouriLS – Slade Roy, LSUKOS – Nathan Dibert, LSURS – Ainias Smith, Texas A&MAP – Tulu Griffin, Mississippi State

Third-TeamP – Oscar Chapman, AuburnPK – Alex McPherson, AuburnLS – William Mote, GeorgiaRS – Tulu Griffin, Mississippi StateAP – Dakereon Joyner, South Carolina

* – Indicates a tie

Previous Article

Arsenal F.C. Defeats MLS All-Stars in the 2023 MLS All-Star Game

Next Article

Jaguars: Engram at Top of His Game; Smoot Re-signed

You might be interested in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *