Florida Jumper Jasmine Moore is the 2023 Honda Sports Award Recipient

GAINESVILLE (Florida Sports Wire) – Jasmine Moore has been named the 2023 Track & Field Honda Sports Award Winner by The Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA).

Moore has appeared on all eight The Bowerman watch lists this season and is a seven-time NCAA Champion, winning the long and triple jump titles at the NCAA Indoor Championship and the triple jump title at the NCAA Outdoor Championship this season. She also earned gold in both the long and triple jump at the SEC Indoor and Outdoor Championships.

Moore, a ten-time USTFCCCA First Team All-American, has medaled in every NCAA Championship horizontal jump competition she has competed in as a Gator.

During her 2023 campaign, Moore set the collegiate record in the indoor triple jump (15.12m/ 49’7.25″), indoor long jump (7.03m/23’0.75″), and outdoor triple jump (14.78m/48’6″).

At the NCAA Indoor Championships, Moore became the first woman to ever clear 15m in the triple jump and 7m in the long jump indoors at the same meet. She is only one of four women in indoor or outdoor jumps to ever clear these marks.

Moore is the second Florida Gator Track & Field athlete to win the Honda Track & Field Sport Award. The previous winner was fellow horizontal jumper Yanis David in 2019.

This is the fourth time in Florida Gators history that there have been multiple Honda Award recipients in the same year. Gators Gymnast Trinity Thomas won the Honda Sports Award for Gymnastics this year.

The Honda Sports Award acknowledges athletic achievement as well as scholastics and community involvement, and is given to female athletes in 12 different NCAA-sanctioned sports throughout the year.

Each Honda Sports Award winner is recognized as the top collegiate female athlete in her sport, and the award is considered by many as one of the highest honors a female college athlete can receive in the nation.

With this honor, Moore becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2023 Honda Cup, which will be presented on June 26 in a live nationally televised broadcast on CBS Sports Network at 6 pm PT/9 pm ET from Los Angeles, California.

The honor is based on the results of national balloting among all NCAA member schools as part of The Collegiate Women Sports Awards program, now in its 47th year. The other finalists for Track & Field were Julien Alfred of Texas, and Ackera Nugent and Britton Wilson of Arkansas.

(Photo by UF Athletics/Mallory Peak)

Previous Article

Moeller: Muma Feels Jaguars Defense Ready to Take Next Step

Next Article

ECHL Represented on Stanley Cup Champion for 23rd Straight Year

You might be interested in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *