Jacksonville Sports Day

Host Jacksonville Golf and Country Club Wins 23rd Club Team Championship

JACKSONVILLE – On a picture perfect day, the team representing host Jacksonville Golf and Country Club posted a 14-under-par score of 130 to outlast 21 other area teams and win the 23rd Club Team Championship, conducted by the Jacksonville Area Golf Association and the Northern Chapter of the North Florida PGA.

The winning team consisted of Northern Chapter PGA member Ray Barr and club members Bill Devine, Skip Lunsford and Fermin Mendez in the two best balls format.  

Two strokes back at 132 was the Sawgrass Country Club team of pro Rhonda Ferguson, Darrin Ferguson, Lisa Morrison and Sarah Phillips.

Taking third-place honors with a score of 133 was pro Hayes Farley, Marty LaPrade, Rob Sandlin and Steve Settles of San Jose Country Club.

Low pro honors went to Cary Splane of Marsh Landing Country Club with a 69, one better than a 70 by Farley. Jennifer Borocz of TPC Sawgrass claimed third, firing a 71.

The top 10 teams and ties were:

Pos.PGA MemberAmateursJAGA Member ClubScore
1Ray BarrSkip Lunsford, Bill Devine, Fermin MendezJacksonville G&CC130
2Rhonda FergusonDarrin Ferguson, Lisa Morrison, Sarah PhillipsSawgrass CC132
3Hayes FarleyRob Sandlin, Steve Settles, Marty LaPradeSan Jose CC133
T4Tim PetersonBob Pohl, Barry Sabia, Don PetersAtlantic Beach CC134
T4Josh WolfeDon Poag, Cary Helton, Bob JordanSan Jose CC134
T4Sean McGauleyChris McCarthy, Mike Smith, Stan JonesFleming Island GC134
T7Brad RollinsonDon Raider, Paige Koerbel, John FeliceTPC Sawgrass135
T7Joseph-Angello CollinsMatthew French, Jack Morehead, Paul FelkerNAS JAX135
T7Jake EthertonPatrick Rachels, Scott Hes, Carmine AbateWorld Golf Village135
T7Jack AschenbachJody Clark, Kevin Dooner, Matt MichauxNFJGT/Amelia Nat’l G&CC135
T7Aaron RussellRandy Nader, Mike Jay, Gregg DeiboldtSawgrass CC135
T7Cary SplaneVinnie Celestino, Drake Batchelder, Alan KearyMarsh Creek CC135

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *