Jacksonville Sports Day

NHL: Tampa Bay Lightning win Their Second Stanley Cup in 2-0 Win over Dallas

The Tampa Bay Lightning won the 2020 Stanley Cup after defeating the Dallas Stars 2-0 in Game 6 to take the best-of-seven series 4-2.

Tampa Bay struck first in Game 6, Brayden Point scoring on the power play at 12:23 of the first period to put the Lightning up 1-0, a goal that would hold up as the game-winner.

Tampa Bay went in front 2-0 at 7:01 of the second period after Blake Coleman found the back of the net on a one-timer from the right circle.

Andrei Vasilevskiy stopped all 22 shots he faced to record his first career playoff shutout in the Cup clinching game (58th playoff appearance).

Tampa Bay outshot Dallas 29-22 in Game 6. The Lightning outshot the Stars in all six games of the series.

The Lightning have won the Stanley Cup for the second time in franchise history to go with the Cup they lifted in 2004. Lightning captain Steven Stamkos was presented the Stanley Cup by NHL commissioner Gary Bettman

Victor Hedman earned the Conn Smythe Trophy as the playoff’s most valuable player after scoring 10 goals – third most ever by a NHL defenseman in a single playoff season – and recording 22 points.

NOTES: Tampa Bay is the first team to join the NHL in the 1990s or later to win multiple Stanley Cups….Point scored his 14th goal of the playoffs (4th on the power play) to set a Lightning franchise record for most goals in a single playoff year, breaking Tyler Johnson’s mark of 13 goals from 2015….The Lightning were 12-1 in the Stanley Cup Playoffs when scoring the first goal….Pat Maroon entered the 2020 Playoffs as the only member of the Lightning to have previously won a Stanley Cup. He’s won Cups in two-straight seasons now after lifting the Cup with St. Louis in 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *