Jacksonville Sports Day

JU, UNF Honored with ASUN Conference End of Year Awards

ATLANTA, Ga. – With the 2020 ASUN Conference Spring Meetings being held virtually this year, the league announced a wide range of accomplishments via a YouTube awards show.

The awards were voted and selected by a variety of groups including the Faculty Athletic Representatives, Senior Woman Administrators and Conference staff.

Commissioner Ted Gumbart awarded special honors to Stetson’s President Dr. Wendy Libby and Lipscomb’s Senior Woman Administrator Dr. Lin Garner as both are set to retire after years of service to their institutions and the ASUN.

Libby has served as Stetson’s President since July 2009, while Garner has been at Lipscomb since 1987.

The league office also recognized FGCU’s Amanda Carroll with the Tom Bilello Award after serving the past three years as the league’s NCAA Division I SAAC Representative, while also honoring Stetson Athletic Director Jeff Altier with the Stellar Service Award as Altier just completed his 35th year at Stetson and 23rd overall as the school’s AD.

Three programs earned the ASUN Beam Award, which is presented to a school program when it breaks new ground in ASUN achievement. Jacksonville Women’s Track & Field, Kennesaw State Men’s Track & Field and North Florida Men’s Golf earned the honor this year for their unprecedented achievements. The ASUN Beam Award was created in the 2018-19 academic year.

Individual End of Year Award Winners
Male Student-Athlete of the Year: Lipscomb’s Brent Leber (Cross Country and Track & Field)
Female Student-Athlete of the Year: Lipscomb’s Olivia Doak (Women’s Soccer)
Postgraduate Scholarship Winners: Emily Kesterson, North Florida (Women’s Soccer) & Alex Turnock, Jacksonville (Cross Country)
Tom Bilello Student-Athlete Leadership Award: Amanda Carroll, FGCU
ASUN Beam Awards: Jacksonville Track & Field, Kennesaw State Track & Field, North Florida Men’s Golf
Stellar Service Award: Jeff Altier, Stetson

Brent Leber, Lipscomb (Cross Country / Track & Field) – Male Student-Athlete of the Year

  • Lipscomb’s first-ever ASUN Men’s Student-Athlete of the Year winner
  • 3.96 Cumulative GPA as a Dual Major in Health and Biology
  • 2019 ASUN Men’s Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year & All-Academic Team Member
  • Tabbed USTFCCCA Academic All-American and ASUN Indoor Track & Field All-Academic Team
  • Won the 2019 ASUN Championship Cross Country title and led Lipscomb to a first-place finish by one point
  • Qualified for NCAA Cross Country Championship becoming first in program history to achieve the feat
  • Set an ASUN Indoor Track & Field Championship record in the 5,000-meter run; broke the previous mark by 13 seconds

Olivia Doak, Lipscomb (Women’s Soccer) – Female Student-Athlete of the Year

  • Fifth-ever ASUN Female Student-Athlete of the Year from Lipscomb
  • 3.90 Cumulative GPA as an Exercise Science Major and Biology Minor; graduated in 3.5 years
  • Four-Time First Team All-Conference member and the 2019 Women’s Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year
  • Program Career Leader in Total Points, ranks second in Career Goals and Assists
  • 2018 United Soccer Coaches Scholar All-American; first in program history to earn the honor
  • Led Bisons to two-straight NCAA Tournaments including a victory in 2018 vs. Mississippi State
  • Signed professional contract to play in Finland’s top league with PK-35 Vantaa

Emily Kesterson, North Florida (Women’s Soccer) – Postgraduate Scholarship

  • First-ever ASUN Female Postgraduate Scholarship Winner from North Florida
  • 3.87 Cumulative GPA as a Health Science major; pursuing Doctorate in Physical Therapy
  • Overcame multiple surgeries in her playing career including two ACLs & two torn labrums
  • Landed on North Florida President’s Honor Roll in five semesters for a perfect 4.0 GPA
  • Helped North Florida tie the program’s Division I record for victories with 11; previously set in 2006

Alex Turnock, Jacksonville (Cross Country) – Postgraduate Scholarship

  • First-ever ASUN Male Postgraduate Scholarship Winner from Jacksonville
  • 3.94 Cumulative GPA as a Kinesiology major; pursuing Doctorate in Physical Therapy
  • Three-Time ASUN All-Academic Team selection and 2019 Fall Winners for Life honoree
  • Earned Jacksonville President’s Honor Roll in five semesters for a perfect 4.0 GPA
  • Plans to attend University of South Florida’s Physical Therapy program

ASUN Beam Award: Jacksonville Women’s Track & Field Program

  • The first team to ever claim 10-straight ASUN Championship titles in any sport, the Jacksonville Women’s Track and Field program extended the unprecedented string to 11, in two championship events! Beginning with the first-place trophy from the inaugural ASUN Indoor Track & Field Championship in 2006 and extending through its title at the 2016 ASUN Outdoor Track & Field Championship, the Dolphins claimed 22 straight track & field titles! With every title claimed under the leadership of Head Coach Ron Grigg, the Jacksonville Women’s Track & Field dynasty is one of a kind in ASUN history.

ASUN Beam Award: Kennesaw State Men’s Track & Field Program

  • Kennesaw State became the first ASUN program to capture an NCAA Championship title. The Owls brought home an individual winner in the NCAA Hammer Throw when All-America performer Daniel Haugh won the event with a toss of 74.63m (244’10”). The Marietta, Ga., native led after two throws with a toss of 72.55m (238’0). He slid to fourth place heading into the finals where he landed the winning toss on his fifth throw of the day. His feat forever stands as the first NCAA Division I title for both the Owl program and for the ASUN Conference. He also became the first Owl to earn Outdoor First Team All-America honors on the men’s side in program history.

ASUN Beam Award: North Florida Men’s Golf Program

  • Ten Straight! In spring 2019, the UNF Ospreys made their 10th consecutive NCAA Regional appearance. This active streak represents an ASUN record for most consecutive seasons earning an NCAA bid. Under Head Coach Scott Schroeder’s leadership throughout, the Ospreys have emerged as a perennial national power, regularly ranking as a Top 20 program. In five of the 10 years, the team advanced from Regionals to the NCAA National Championship, including a Regional Championship in 2012-13.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *