Jacksonville Sports Day

ECHL: Florida’s Masella is AMI Graphics Plus Performer of the Year

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced that Florida Everblades’ defenseman Ben Masella is the recipient of the AMI Graphics Plus Performer of the Year award after finishing the season with a plus-minus rating of +40.

It is the third straight season a member of the Everblades has won the award, following Joe Cox in 2018-19 and Logan Roe in 2017-18.

Logan Roe of Florida finished second with a plus-minus rating of +36, followed by Utah’s Tim McGauley at +35, Griffen Molino of Utah at +32 and Florida’s Hunter Garlent at +31.

Masella, who was ECHL Plus Performer of the Month in February after posting a league-best +24 during the month, was even or better in 39 of his 50 games this season while tallying 30 points (2g-28a). The 27-year-old posted only one minus rating over the final 21 games of the season.

A native of Montreal, Masella has 70 points (11g-59a) in 174 career ECHL games with Florida, Worcester and Adirondack.

ECHL Plus-Minus Rating Leaders

2019-20 Ben Masella, Florida Everblades, +40
2018-19 Joe Cox, Florida Everblades, +46
2017-18 Logan Roe, Florida Everblades, +43
2016-17 Joel Chouinard, Allen Americans, +47
2015-16 Joey Leach, South Carolina Stingrays, +40
2014-15 Drew Daniels, Fort Wayne Komets and Mike Little, Florida Everblades, +46
2013-14 Peter Sivak, Alaska Aces, +49
2012-13 Matt Case, Idaho Steelheads, +32
2011-12 Mathieu Aubin, Cincinnati Cyclones, +25
2010-11 Trent Daavettila, Kalamazoo Wings and Brendan Connolly, Greenville Road Warriors, +28
2009-10 Mark Derlago, Idaho Steelheads, +34
2008-09 Travis Morin, South Carolina Stingrays, +37
2007-08 Chad Starling, Cincinnati Cyclones, +48
2006-07 Matt Shasby, Alaska Aces, +43
2005-06 Peter Metcalf, Alaska Aces, +44
2004-05 Aaron Phillips, Pensacola Ice Pilots, +36
2003-04 Tim Smith, Columbia Inferno, +40
2002-03 Mike Glumac, Pee Dee Pride and Dennis Vial, Columbia Inferno, +37
2001-02 Konstantin Kalmikov, Louisiana IceGators, +43
2000-01 Jay Murphy, Louisiana Ice Gators. +32
1999-00 Andy MacIntyre, Florida Everblades, +46
1998-99 Jan Vodrazka, Pee Dee Pride, +44
1997-98 Stan Melanson, Louisiana IceGators, +36
1996-97 Dominic Maltais, Hampton Roads Admirals, +44
1995-96 Kim Maier, Knoxville Cherokees, +48
1994-95 Jamie Steer, Dayton Bombers, +43
1993-94 Sebastien Laplante, Greensboro Monarchs, +42
1992-93 Victor Gervais, Hampton Roads Admirals, +59
1991-92 Brad McCaughey, Toledo Storm, +51

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *