Jacksonville Sports Day

ARENA: Wide Receiver Solomon to Suit Up for Sharks in 2020

JACKSONVILLE – The 2019 NAL Champions Jacksonville Sharks, have re-signed wide receiver Kamrin Solomon for the 2020 season.

This will be Solomon’s second year in the arena football and second season with the Sharks.

Solomon’s signing marks him as the ninth returning 2019 NAL Champion to re-join Jacksonville under Head Coach James Fuller.

Over the last few weeks, linemen Derrick Ziegler, Jaleel Brown, Mike Williams, Aaron Bellazin, Jonathan Taylor, linebacker/fullback Zack Brown, fullback Alstevis Squirewell, and defensive back Tony Goodman each chose to return to the Sharks for another championship run.

Last season, Squirewell led the NAL with 60 rushes for 189 yards and 11 touchdowns. He also proved to be very successful in the Sharks passing game, receiving seven catches for 70 yards and one touchdown.

In the postseason, Squirewell caught a crucial two-point conversion in the championship game against the Carolina Cobras. Following the end of the 2019 season, Squirewell received First Team All-NAL honors. Prior to the Sharks, Squirewell signed with the Green Bay Packers for the 2016 rookie minicamp.

Solomon began his arena football career last year with the Sharks.

During his 2019 debut, Solomon played in five games, recording 10 catches for 129 yards, and five receiving touchdowns.

As a rookie, Solomon learned from the NAL’s most elite receiving core boasting All-NAL receivers Devin Wilson, Jarmon Fortson, and Durron Neal.

Now with a year of arena football under his belt and a full season ahead of him, Solomon looks to be one of the national arena leagues notable up incoming receivers for the 2020 season.

NAL NOTES: A second franchise has been approved and will join the NAL for the 2020 season. The Jersey Flight will become a member of the National Arena League. Jersey joins West Virginia as the second northeastern expansion team that has come on board for next season. The Flight will be the seventh team in the NAL for 2020 and will join the Massachusetts Pirates and West Virginia Roughriders in the northeast region of the NAL. The league’s recent expansion will mean that the league will have three teams in the northern United States and four teams in the southern United States those current teams being the Jacksonville Sharks, Orlando Predators, Columbus Lions, and Carolina Cobras.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *