Jacksonville Sports Day

FSU NOTEBOOK: Akers Named To Doak Walker Award Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State running back Cam Akers has been named to the Doak Walker Award Watch List.

Akers is on his second national award watch list after earlier this week being named to the watch list for the Maxwell Award given to college football’s player of the year.

He broke FSU’s freshman rushing record in 2017 and enters the 2019 season already ranking 18th in program history with 1,730 career rushing yards.

The junior from Clinton, Miss., recorded a team-best 866 all-purpose yards last season with 706 rushing yards, 145 receiving yards and 15 kickoff return yards and was recognized with the team’s Bobby Bowden Leadership Award.

He scored eight total touchdowns, including a career-high-tying two scores against Wake Forest and again at No. 3 Notre Dame. He tied for fourth in the ACC and 14th nationally with three 50-yard runs, including a career-long 85-yard carry that was the seventh-longest rush in program history.

Today wide receiver Tamorrion Terry was one of six sophomores named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List.

Terry, who represented FSU at Wednesday’s ACC Kickoff event, burst onto the scene as a redshirt freshman last season, leading the team with an FSU freshman-record 744 receiving yards and eight touchdowns on 35 receptions to become only the fourth freshman in program history to lead FSU in receiving yards and receiving touchdowns.

The Ashburn, Georgia, native was the first Seminole with two 70-yard touchdown catches in a season since Peter Warrick in 1998, and that total ranks first in the NCAA among 2019 returners.

He also ranks third in the nation among returners with a 21.3 yards-per-reception average and 39.1 yards-per-touchdown reception average and sixth in catches-per-touchdown ratio with a score every 4.375 catches last season.

The Biletnikoff Award, named after Florida State’s first consensus All-American Fred Biletnikoff, is presented annually to college football’s outstanding receiver. The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation will announce 10 semifinalists Nov. 18 before revealing three finalists one week later.

The 2019 Biletnikoff Award winner will be announced Dec. 12 during the Home Depot College Football Awards live on ESPN.

The Doak Walker Award is presented annually to the nation’s premier running back. It was created in 1989 and is the only major college football award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum will release its list of three finalists on Nov. 20, and the 2019 Doak Walker Award winner will be announced Dec. 12 during the Home Depot College Football Awards live on ESPN.

Akers and defensive tackle Marvin Wilson were included on watch lists for the Maxwell Award and Bednarik Award, respectively, as the first preseason watch lists were announced Monday.

Wilson, who will represent FSU at Wednesday’s ACC Kickoff event, recorded 42 tackles, including 4.5 for loss with 3.5 sacks, four quarterback hurries, two pass breakups and one forced fumble last season on his way to honorable mention All-ACC honors and the team’s Bobby Bowden Leadership Award. He ended the season with consecutive career-best tackles totals, posting seven against Boston College and No. 13 Florida.

Those totals bettered his previous best of six set at No. 17 Miami. The Houston native has received numerous accolades, including preseason All-America honors from Athlon and Phil Steele, already this preseason and is considered among the nation’s elite interior defensive linemen.

The Maxwell Award has been presented annually since 1937 to the College Player of the Year. The Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 to the Defensive Player of the Year. Both awards are given by the Maxwell Football Club, which will announce semifinalists Oct. 29 and finalists Nov. 25.

Florida State tight end Tre’ McKitty is on the watch list for the John Mackey Award, it was announced Friday.

McKitty appeared in all 12 games with 10 starts as a true sophomore last season. He made 26 receptions, fourth-most among tight ends in the ACC, for 256 yards and two touchdowns. The Wesley Chapel, Florida, native averaged 11.6 yards per reception on third down to lead all ACC tight ends with at least 10 targets.

He made a career-high five catches in the season opener vs. No. 20 Virginia Tech and then matched that total five days later for a career-high 59 yards and his first collegiate touchdown. McKitty also made five receptions at North Carolina State for 57 yards, including a career-long 32-yard catch. He hauled in a spectacular 25-yard touchdown reception in the fourth quarter of FSU’s 28-24 win at Louisville. Following the season, McKitty was rewarded with a spot on the All-ACC Academic Team.

The 2019 Mackey Award winner will be announced on Dec. 11, and the trophy will be presented live Dec. 12 on the Home Depot Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.

Linebacker DeCalon Brooks was among the nominees for the 2019 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® released Tuesday.

Brooks has established himself as one of Florida State’s most active student-athletes in the community, contributing more than 60 hours of service in the 2018-19 school year.

The sophomore from Tampa accrued those hours by working with various organizations and events, including the American Red Cross, Literacy Week, Purpose Build, Kickin’ it for Autism, Kearny Center and Big Bend Hospice where he has served people of all ages.

Following Hurricane Michael, the only Category 5 hurricane ever to make landfall in the Florida panhandle, Brooks joined 40 FSU student-athletes on a service trip to assist in clean up and repair efforts in Panama City.

Brooks has reached out to his teammates to get them more involved in the community, as he serves as the team’s liaison for student services. In 2018-19, the football team logged the fourth-highest total among the 18 FSU varsity sports with a total of 706 hours. For his efforts he was awarded the ACC Top 6 for Service honor.

Brooks spearheaded the “Lift for Life” event this past Saturday at the Dunlap Practice Facility, which was put on in conjunction with Uplifting Athletes – a national organization that works with student-athletes to raise funds for the fight against rare diseases. Brooks will also work with members of the Student-Athlete Development Career Advisory Board to orchestrate the inaugural volunteer fair.

Established in 1992, the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® continues to be one of the most coveted community service awards in college football.

Florida State has had six players selected to the Good Works Team. The Seminoles had three straight years with an honoree starting in 1994 with Corey Fuller, continuing in 1995 with Wayne Messum and concluding with Sam Cowart in 1996. Christian Ponder was on the team in 2010, and FSU recently had back-to-back years with a team member courtesy of Alec Eberle in 2016 and Mavin Saunders in 2017.

Florida State opens its 2019 season against Boise State in Jacksonville on Aug. 31. Tickets for the 7 p.m. kickoff can be purchased here. Ticket options for the six games inside Doak Campbell Stadium, including a Nov. 2 matchup with rival Miami, are available here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *