Jacksonville Sports Day

JAGA: Young Tops Match Play Championshop Qualifier

JAGA Match Play Championship qualifying tournament medalist Michael Smith of Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
JACKSONVILLE – 2016 JAGA Match Play Championship winner Michael Smith of Ponte Vedra Beach claimed medalist honors for the second year in a row on Sunday in the qualifying tournament at Jacksonville Beach Golf Club and will lead a pack of 32 golfers who will vie for the 2019 title June 7-9 at TPC Sawgrass.

The former James Madison University golfer shot a 1-under-par 70 over the 6,600-yard layout, one better than Nat Mosby (35-36) of Windsor Parke Golf Club and Michael Sass (34-37) of Louisville, Ky.

On a typically breezy day at recently renovated Jax Beach, Smith had three bogeys and a birdie on his outward nine of 37. Things turned around on the back nine for the TPC Sawgrass member, particularly over the last few holes when he recorded birdies on Nos. 10, 15, 17 and 18. His lone bogey came at the 17th.

With a birdie on No. 17, Mosby was in position to tie Smith for the clubhouse lead but was done in by a bogey on the par-5 18th. Sass bogeyed the 14th, then closed with four pars.

A full field of 63 entered the qualifier. Thirty-two players will be seeded into matches that will be played at TPC Sawgrass, with Smith the No. 1 seed at his home club. Based on a scorecard match, Mosby is the No. 2 seed and Sass No. 3.

The first three rounds of matches on June 7 and 8 will be contested on Dye’s Valley Course, with the June 9th semi-finals and championship matches enjoying the world-class stage of THE PLAYERS Stadium course, the PGA TOUR’s flagship golf course.

Smith won the 2016 JAGA Match Play title at Atlantic Beach Golf Club, defeating Sam Uhland 3 and 1.

The four players who were exempt will not be able to compete – David Wicks (2018 champion/turned pro), Devin Suri (2018 runner-up/turned pro), Davis Roche (2018 Jacksonville Amateur champion/scheduling conflict) and John Lobb (2019 Senior Amateur champion/shoulder surgery).

Kip Webber (Windsor Parke Golf Club), Harrison Yazgi (Blue Sky Club) and Chase Wolfe (Eagle Harbor Golf Club) earned spots Nos. 30, 31 and 32, respectively, on a match of cards. They were among eight who shot 79.

Scores from the qualifying are below. More information, photos, etc. are available via www.jaxareagolf.org or BlueGolf.com. The seedings and first-round matches will be available by Wednesday of next week due to the possibility of player withdrawals impacting the seeding process.

The Match Play Championship is sponsored and conducted by the Jacksonville Area Golf Association, which annually promotes Jacksonville’s top-level amateur competitions and has since 1954. The Match Play Championship will be played for the ninth time in 2019. Thomas Bozzuto, a JAGA director representing Hyde Park Golf Club, is JAGA’s VP-Tournaments and the Match Play Championship tournament chairman.

The results of the qualifier:

1   Michael Smith                      37-33–70
2   Nate Mosby                         35-36–71
3   Michael Sass                       34-37–71
4   Samuel King                        37-35–72
5   Prince Cunnigham               37-36–73
6   Lenny Schonfeld III              36-37–73
7   Chase Baldwin                     33-40–73
8   Duke Butler IV                      36-38–74
9   Chris Henderson                  35-39–74
10  Tyler Allen                           35-39–74
11  Kevin McDonald                  38-37–75
12  Colin Sirbaugh                    37-38–75
13  Robert Mealey                    37-38–75
14  Charles Collings                 37-38–75
15  Jonathan Lumley               36-39–75
16  Damon Noisette                 35-40–75
17  Grant Sutliff                        37-39–76
18  Kevin Slayden                    37-39–76
19  Gonzalo Miquelarena         35-41–76
20  Chris Watson                      39-38–77
21  Juan Iturra                          39-38–77
22  Luis Rivera                         39-38–77
23  Tom Cregg                         38-39–77
24  JP Pearce                          36-41–77
25  Chase Mills                        41-37–78
26  Alex Nannetti                     39-39–78
27  Mike Bodney                      39-39–78
28  Richard Holmes                 38-40–78
29  Sam Dales                         36-42–78
30  Kip Webber                        40-39–79
31  Harrison Yazgi                   40-39–79
32  Chase Wolfe                      39-40–79

33  TJ Doty                                 38-41–79
34  Keith Nagy                            38-41–79
35  Jeffrey Hand                         37-42–79
36  Lucas Slayden                      37-42–79
37  Alan Henderson                    37-42–79

Zachary Rogers                         40-40–80
Matt Tickle                                 40-40–80
Rick Theiler                                37-43–80
Tommy Bishop                           47-34–81
Ford Chandler                           42-39–81
Anthony Scolapio                      38-43–81
Jake Kruk                                  38-43–81
Jake Haas                                 37-44–81
Barry Curley                              41-42–83
Richard Robyn                          40-43–83
John Milton                               39-44–83
Christian Thomsen                   39-44–83
William Shrewsbury                  44-40–84
Scott Nicholson                         43-41–84
Jeffrey Baines                           42-42–84
Luke McCann                            42-42–84
Dave Devore                              39-45–84
Arthur Porcelli                            40-45–85
Brice Bowen                               43-43–86
Frank Perry                                38-48–86
Stockton Carter                          44-48–92
Trevor Belton                              46-47–93
Michael Bradham, Zach Lee       WD
Aaron Coords, Steve Pitts           NC
Alan Eberhart                             JWD

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *