Jacksonville Sports Day

HOCKEY NOTEBOOK: ECHL to utilize Video Replay Review for 2019-20 Season

Jacob Benson/Photo Courtesy St. Cloud State Athletics

JACKSONVILLE – The ECHL announced that the league will utilize video replay in all 27 of its buildings for the 2019-20 Season for goal review. For the first time in ECHL history, referees working League games will be able to review video streams from overhead cameras located above each goal and make decisive rulings directly from the ice using a tablet device.

At the referee’s discretion, the following circumstances are eligible for instant replay and subsequent ruling:

  • Puck crossing the goal line
  • Puck entering the net using a distinct kicking motion
  • Puck directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player
  • Puck entering the net before the goal frame is dislodged from moorings
  • Puck crossing the goal line prior to time expiring

ICE CAPS – Goaltender Connor Ingram stropped all 30 shots faced to lead the Orlando Solar Bears to 2-0 victory over the Jacksonville Icemen at the Amway Center Tuesday night.
With the win, Orlando locked up second place in the South Division. The Icemen will now host first-round playoff home games on April 18  and 19 and if necessary on Saturday April
20. Opponent will be announced at a later date. All games will start at 7  p.m. Jacksonville signed forward Jacob Benson. Benson, 23, joins the Icemen after concluding his senior campaign with the top ranked NCAA program in the country, St. Cloud State University. The Icemen travel to Estero to battle the Florida Everblades on Saturday.

CYCLONES WIN BRABHAM CUP – The Cincinnati Cyclones clinched the 2018-19 Brabham Cup championship on Wednesday by virtue of their 3-2 win against Toledo. The Brabham Cup is the trophy awarded annually to the ECHL team that finishes with the most points in the regular season. The recipient is guaranteed home-ice advantage throughout its participation in the 2019 Kelly Cup Playoffs presented by SmileDirectClub. With the win, Cincinnati improved its record to 50-12-8 for 108 points and captures the ECHL regular-season title for the second time in team history. The Cyclones also led the ECHL with 115 points in 2007-08 en route to capturing their first Kelly Cup championship. The 115 points and 55 wins the Cyclones recorded that season stand as the second-most in league history. The award is named in recognition of Henry Brabham, who founded the ECHL in 1988-89 with five teams in four states.

SHEPPARD NAMED TO ALL-ROOKIE SQUAD: The ECHL announced its All-Rookie Team for 2018-19 as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media, who were asked to select a goaltender, two defensemen and three forwards. A rookie is defined as a player who has played in less than 25 professional games at the “AA” level or higher prior to the start of the current season. Since the ECHL began naming the All-Rookie Team in 2000-01, 19 players selected have gone on to play in the National Hockey League.

2018-19 ECHL All-Rookie Team

G – Tomas Sholl, Idaho Steelheads (37 gp, 25-12-0, 2.26 GAA, .928 save pct.)
D – Alex Breton, Allen Americans (53 gp, 14g, 25a, 39 pts.)
D – Derek Sheppard, Florida Everblades (57 gp, 14g, 26a, 40 pts.)
F – Chris Collins, Kalamazoo Wings (57 gp, 28g, 36a, 64 pts.)
F – Steven Iacobellis, Wichita Thunder (54 gp, 20g, 40a, 60 pts.)
F – Myles Powell, Cincinnati Cyclones (55 gp, 30g, 34a, 64 pts.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *