Jacksonville Sports Day

SEELY: JAGA News and Notes

The winning team included pro Major Forbess and amateurs Rae Marks, Michael Eissing and John Vogelpohl.

By Fred Seely and Barney Poston

14th Annual Scholarship Trust Benefit Tournament

The final 2016 JAGA tournament is the Scholarship Trust benefit on Oct. 31. That’s the Monday after the Georgia-Florida game and it’s a 9 a.m. shotgun on the Ponte Vedra Inn & Club’s Ocean course.

The tournament is open to pros, amateurs, male and females with one pro per team maximum (optional) with all proceeds going the JAGA Scholarship Trust Fund. Last year’s event drew twenty-two teams and raised nearly $4000 for the Trust.

Entry Fee is $110 per player or $440 per team and includes:Golf, cart, range balls, lunch and prizes. Please go to the website to sign up your foursome today. Hole sponsorships are available at $100 each. We encourage you to sponsor a hole. Please go the JAGA web for details and sponsorship form.

The last shall be the first……
and that’s what happened in the Club Team Championship at Timuquana. Windsor Parke’s team got in with an hour to go before the entry deadline and ended up winning by one shot. They’ll have possession of the giant trophy for a year and team leader Rae Marks said it will be very visible in the clubhouse.

and more Tournaments
• Upcoming tournaments include the Dec. 5-7 Gate Senior at Ponte Vedra Inn and Club, and the Dec. 15-16 Henry Tuten Gator Bowl Pro-Am at Timuquana and San Jose.

First Coast Amateur …

What’s hoped to eventually be a major amateur event gets its start Jan. 14-16 at Amelia National. It’s the First Coast Amateur and it’s being organized by the City of Jacksonville events department with help from JAGA. UNF Coach Scott Schroeder is helping get college players and various national websites have agreed to spread the word. The man behind it all, Joel Lamp, says he’ll settle for a first-year field of 50-75. The entry fee is $275 and players must have an index of 6.0 or better. Check the JAGA website for more information.

Web.Com Championship

There won’t be much onsite parking for the Web.Com Championship at Atlantic Beach CC but a good shuttle system will help fans get to the course. Parking will be at the Neptune Beach Plaza and buses will run every 15 minutes. Tournament director Adam Renfroe says they’ll increase the turnout by 50 percent with a long list of parties and events during the week. Tournament week starts Oct. 3 with a shootout involving local juniors, Web.Com players and media members. Competition rounds are Thursday through Sunday and, as of now, the field will include 22 who have won at least once on the PGA Tour.

Northern Chapter winners

The Northern Chapter’s championships were earlier this month with Bob Wallace of the Omni Amelia Island Plantation winning the Chapter Championship at The Amelia Island Club and the Omni Amelia Island Plantation’s Ocean Links and Jason Smith of Timuquana winning the assistant’s title on his home course of Timuquana.

Golf Festival

The World Golf Village will have a Golf Festival on Sept. 24 from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Lots of free family activities. Details at worldgolfvillage.com.

More on the Northern Chapter
The new president is Jim Lohbauer of Deerwood, the VP is Aaron Merritt of the Omni Amelia Island Plantation and the secretary is Tim Cooper of the King & Bear course at the World Golf Village.

Contact Fred Seely is at fs4569@comcast.net and Barney Poston is at barneypo@bellsouth.net.

Results from JAGA Club Team Championship at Timuquana
Two best balls of foursome. Professional listed first.
125: Windsor Parke. Major Forbess, Rae Marks, Michael Eissing, John Vogelpohl.
126: Jacksonville G&CC. Ray Barr, Skip Lunsford, Domenick Annunziata, Wayne St. Clair;.
127: King & Bear. Tim Cooper, David Garratt, Barnes Gray, Sal Randisi.
129: Sawgrass. Mike Broderick, Ray Gottschalk, Randy Nader, Gregg Deiboldt; Country Club of Orange Park. Michael Simmons, Robert Taylor, Alex Quintard, Ron Loefgren.
130: Amelia Island Club. Bobby Voelker, Brian Tennyson, Ralph Karlovec, Howard Pines.
131: Timuquana. Jamey Salmon, Fred Seely, Jon Thompson, Michael McKenny; Ponte Vedra Inn and Club. Bruce Mohler, Adair Roberts, Jim Brennan, Steve Linn.
132: Fernandina Beach. Mike Benjamin, Price Poole, Carl Galpin, Ronnie Boatright; Hyde Park. Gary Murfitt, Rusty Holsworth, Zach Rogers, Chris Petney; Queen’s Harbour. Jim Camp, Bob Sykora, Fred Goeddel, Joe Wolke; San Jose. Josh Vidoli, Mike Cooper, Don Poag, Bob Jordon; Amelia River. Alan Clack, Paul Worley, Dale Dignum, George Clucas.
133: Marsh Landing. Bryan Cooper. George Halvorsen, Ray Cabano, Marc Battreall; Deerwood. Jeff Hager, Ken Hicks, Bill Boutwell, Glen Soliah.
134: Hidden Hills. John Handly, Allen Witham, Barney Poston, Tex Blinn; Jacksonville Beach. Sandy Suckling, Fred Bridges, Ed Tormollen, Al Levene.
136: NAS. Joe Carriero, Sean Hadley, Jack Morehead, Larry Burke; Suwannee. Bob Budwick, Jimmy Prevatt, Don Branske, Rusty Stevens.
137: St. John’s G&CC. Brian Rogers, Ed Longley, Jesse Koch, Charles Jenks.
140: Palatka. Andy Heartz, Ron Jerin, Ron Mullis, Jeff Elledge.
141: Blue Cypress. Byron Comstock, Rod Ellison, Chuck Kirk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *